Uveitis can have many causes, including eye injury and inflammatory diseases. Symptoms include redness, pain, light sensitivity, blurred vision and dark floating spots in the field of vision.


What is Uveitis?

Uveitis occurs when the middle layer of the eyeball gets inflamed (red and swollen). This layer, called the uvea, has many blood vessels that nourish the eye. Uveitis can damage vital eye tissue, leading to permanent vision loss.
Uveitis is a general term describing a group of inflammatory diseases that produces swelling and destroys eye tissues. These diseases can slightly reduce vision or lead to severe vision loss.
The term “uveitis” is used because the diseases often affect a part of the eye called the uvea. Nevertheless, uveitis is not limited to the uvea. These diseases also affect the lens, retina, optic nerve, and vitreous, producing reduced vision or blindness.
Uveitis may be caused by problems or diseases occurring in the eye or it can be part of an inflammatory disease affecting other parts of the body. It can happen at all ages and primarily affects people between 20 to 60 years old.
Uveitis can last for a short (acute) or a long (chronic) time. The severest forms of uveitis reoccur many times.

There are 3 types of uveitis. They are based on which part of the uvea is affected.
  • Swelling of the uvea near the frontof the eye is called Anterior Uveitis’. It starts suddenly and symptoms can last up to 8 weeks. Some forms of Anterior Uveitis’are on-going, while others go away but keep coming back.
  • Swelling of the uvea in the middleof the eye is called ‘Intermediate Uveitis’. Symptoms can last for a few weeks to many years. This form can go through cycles of getting better, then getting worse.
  • Swelling of the uvea toward the backof the eye is called Posterior Uveitis’. Symptoms can develop gradually and last for many years.
In severe cases, all layers may be involved.

Frequently Asked Questions and Answers

What is the Uvea and What Parts of the Eye are Most Affected by Uveitis?
The uvea is the middle layer of the eye which contains much of the eye’s blood vessels. This is one way that inflammatory cells can enter the eye. Located between the sclera, the eye’s white outer coat, and the inner layer of the eye, called the retina, the uvea consists of the iris, ciliary body, and choroid.
Iris: The colored circle at the front of the eye. It defines eye color, secretes nutrients to keep the lens healthy, and controls the amount of light that enters the eye by adjusting the size of the pupil.
Ciliary Body: It is located between the iris and the choroid. It helps the eye focus by controlling the shape of the lens and it provides nutrients to keep the lens healthy.
Choroid: A thin, spongy network of blood vessels, which primarily provides nutrients to the retina.

Uveitis disrupts vision by primarily causing problems with the lens, retina, optic nerve, and vitreous.

Lens: Transparent tissue that allows light into the eye.

 Retina: The layer of cells on the back, inside part of the eye that converts light into electrical signals sent to the brain.

 Optic Nerve: A bundle of nerve fibers that transmits electrical signals from the retina to the brain.

Vitreous: The fluid filled space inside the eye.

What Causes Uveitis?
What is Anterior Uveitis?
What is Intermediate Uveitis?
What is Posterior Uveitis?
What is Pan-Uveitis?
What are the diseases Associated with Uveitis?
What are the Symptoms?
How is uveitis detected?
How is Uveitis Treated?
How the Anterior Uveitis can be treated?
How the Intermediate, Posterior, and Pan-Uveitis can be treated?